Do you no longer want to transact with Venmo? You can easily delete your Venmo account so nobody can access your financial details. Here’s how.

Be sure to download a copy of your Venmo transaction history before you delete your account, and make sure to transfer your Venmo balance to your bank account.

Venmo accounts cannot be deleted through a mobile phone, and you must access the Venmo website from a desktop computer and a browser in order to do so.

How to delete a Venmo account on Desktop: step by step guide

  • On your browser, login to your Venmo account with your credentials
  • To proceed with Venmo, “open the settings” and provide all the information you need
  • Then click ‘Close my account

  • To delete your account, click ‘Next’
  • Therefore, your account will be deleted and you will receive a final transaction history via email.

How to Delete a Venmo Business Account

Business accounts can be closed if they are no longer needed, and personal accounts can be kept. You cannot, however, remove the app from Venmo’s website or use it. Venmo business accounts can be deleted by contacting the company the following ways:

  • Request that Venmo Business Profile Support delete your business account by sending an email.
  • On the Venmo website, fill out the Contact Us form.
  • You can reach Venmo at their customer service number.

The following information should be kept in mind before you close your Venmo business account:

  • You cannot reopen your business profile once it has been closed.
  • Your current personal account will not allow you to create another business profile.
  • It is possible that Venmo needs to verify your identity for tax purposes before closing your account.

Complete and submit any forms Venmo may require. Be sure to keep copies of all correspondence and transaction histories associated with your business account.

How do I delete my Venmo account from my iPhone App?

However, the iPhone app does not allow you to delete your account at the moment. Due to security concerns, Venmo must make major changes to its website. The first step is to open a web browser on a computer.

It is possible to prepare ahead of time for your account to be deleted from the mobile app. A Venmo account can only be closed if the balance is zero.

In that case, you can use your iPhone app to withdraw the balance. Here’s how:

  1. From the app, log in to your Venmo account.
  2. Click “You” (the blue silhouette with the dollar signblobid0.png).
  3. Choose the “Add or Transfer” option.
  4. Enter the amount you wish to withdraw (should equal your total balance).
  5. Select “Instant” (a small fee will be charged) or “1-3 Business Days” (at no charge).
  6. Specify where the money should be transferred (bank account or debit card).
  7. Please click “Transfer” to confirm.

How to Delete Venmo Accounts from Android

Through the Android app, you cannot delete your account. It is necessary to use a laptop or desktop to make this change. You must be logged in to your Venmo account in a web browser. 

How to delete the Venmo account of a deceased person

You might need to delete an account of a deceased person if you have their login credentials. If you wish to delete the account, visit the Venmo website and follow the above guide.

When you don’t have access to their Venmo credentials but have their email address, you can use the ‘Forgot password‘ option, and reset the password in order to gain access to their account. You will need to contact Venmo if both of the above options do not work.

Faqs closing Venmo account

What happens if you delete your account with Venmo?

All Venmo account-related information will be deleted once you delete your Venmo account. Include previous transactions or money sent from others to their Venmo account.

Is it possible to delete my account if I don’t remember my password?

To close your account, you must be logged in. If you need to reset your password, click here.

When I delete my account, what happens to my funds?

If you delete your Venmo account, you will need to transfer your funds to your bank account or return them to the sender.

Should I delete my account if I don’t want my payments to be seen by the public?

No, Your Venmo account can be configured to automatically set the privacy setting for all future payments to your preference.

How do I delete payment or bank account information on Venmo?

  • Sign in to your account on the app
  • Click three horizontal icon 
  • Click on “Settings”
  • Then click “Payment Methods”
  • Click on the payment information or bank account that you want to remove
  • Tap on “Remove Bank”

Why wont Venmo let me delete my account?

Not sure, but I would guess that’s because deleting your account will prevent you from using Venmo anymore.

Is it possible to delete the Venmo account and start over?

Yes, The Venmo account can be deleted and you can start over. You can do this by going to the Venmo website and selecting “Log out of Venmo” in the upper right corner.

Video: close Venmo account

You can find more information about Venmo in our FAQ What is Venmo?  Also, we have a guide on how to add money to Venmo and how to use Venmo. If you made a Venmo payment by mistake, you’ll need to know how to undo the payment, as well as how to cancel it.

How did you close a Venmo account that you weren’t using? Tell us in the comments if you followed the steps in this article.

Related Topics: